ARKANSAS DMV TEST - FAQ

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS


Who is required to have a driver license in Arkansas?


Anyone who operates a motor vehicle, motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or motorized bicycle on public highways in Arkansas.

What is the age requirement to get an Arkansas driver license?


You must be 18 years of age to obtain a non-restricted driver license. You can obtain a restricted driver license if you are at least 14 years old and you have the consent of a parent / legal guardian.

I did not pass the driver's knowledge and skills test. Can I obtain an Arkansas driver license?


No.

Who cannot obtain an Arkansas driver license?


People who are judged by a court to be mentally incompetent, an alcoholic or a habitual user of illegal narcotics. People who have judgments pending for a traffic violation.

When can I lose my Arkansas driver license?


- If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- If you refuse a request by a law enforcement officer to be tested for alcohol or narcotics intoxication.
- If you leave the scene of an accident in which you are involved without identifying yourself.
- If you do not notify the Department of Finance & Administration of a reportable traffic crash in which you were involved.
- If you give false information when you apply for a driver license.
- If you attempt to change the information on your license or use another person’s license when attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage.
- If you do not appear for re-examination when requested by the office of Driver Services.
- If you use a motor vehicle to commit a felony or death caused by a motor vehicle crash.
- If you accumulate excessive points against your driving record.
- If you allow another person to use your driver license.

Do I have to provide proof of legal presence in the US and proof of identity in order to apply for an Arkansas driver license?


Yes. The complete list of the required documents can be found on the “Arkansas Driver License Study Guide”.


ARKANSAS KNOWLEDGE TEST



How is the written test structured?


The written test includes questions about rules of the road, traffic laws, road signs and safe driving practices. The written test consists of 25 questions and you need 20 correct answers to pass (80%).

Where do I find the official “Arkansas Driver License Study Guide”?


The manual is available on the website of the State of Arkansas at https://static.ark.org/eeuploads/asp/dl_study_guide_02292016.pdf .


TYPES OF ARKANSAS DRIVER LICENSES


Instruction Permit


Age requirement - 14 years of age.
Test requirements - Knowledge exam and vision test.
Validity - 1 year.
Validity extension - Not allowed.
Restriction - The owner of the Instruction Permit must drive with a licensed driver over 21 years of age sitting beside him/her.

Learner’s License


Age requirement - Between 14 and 16 years of age.
Test requirements - Valid Instruction Permit, knowledge exam, vision test and skills test.
Restriction - Lasts at least 6 month, the person operating with a Learner’s License must drive with a licensed driver over 21 years of age sitting beside him/her.

Intermediate License


Age requirement - Between 16 and 18 years of age.
Test requirements - Valid Instruction Permit, knowledge exam, vision test and skills test.
Other requirement - Free of involvement in serious accident and conviction of a serious traffic violation for at least the previous 6 month.
Restriction - A driver with an Intermediate License can operate a motor vehicle unaccompanied except when with more than one unrelated minor passenger on board and between the hours of 11:00 pm and 4:00 am.

I am 18 years of age and I have a valid Instruction Permit indicating a completion of the knowledge exam, vision and skills test. Can I apply for a non-restricted Arkansas driver license?


Yes, if you are free of serious accident and conviction of a serious traffic violation for at least the previous 12 months.


I HAVE A DRIVER LICENSE BUT...


I am a non-resident and I moved to Arkansas. Do I need an Arkansan driver license to drive in this state?


After six months as non-resident in Arkansas you have to get an Arkansas driver license.

I moved to Arkansas and I became a resident. Do I need an Arkansas driver license?


Yes, within 30 days of becoming a resident you must get an Arkansas driver license.

I am a foreign student over 16 attending classes in Arkansas and I have a valid driver license from another state or country. Do I need an Arkansas driver license?


No, if you are considered non-resident under rules regulating payment of tuition.

I am a foreign member of military and I have a valid driver license from another state or country. Do I need an Arkansas driver license?


No, if you are on active or temporary duty in Arkansas.

My driver license was revoked. Can I obtain an Arkansas driver license?


Only if one year has passed from any revocation.