COLORADO DMV TEST - FAQ


In order to obtain your Colorado driver’s license you must pass the basic written test. The written test covers various aspects of driving knowledge and safety. The questions will cover the content of the “Colorado Driver Handbook” and includes road signs, driving under the influence, driving rules, safety rules and legal items.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS


Who is required to have a Colorado driver’s license?


Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor driven cycle on Colorado public streets and highways.

What is the age requirement to apply for a Colorado driver’s license?


You must be at least 16 years of age in order to be eligible for a Colorado driver’s license. You can apply for a Colorado Driver Education Permit if you are at least 15 years of age.

Who cannot be issued a Colorado driver’s license?


Any person who does not submit proof of their date of birth or/and identity;
Any person who fails the driver’s license examinations;
Any person with an out-of-state driver’s license who does not surrender that license;
Any person who has is driving privilege suspended / revoked / denied;
Any person who is mentally incompetent, alcoholic or habitual user of narcotic drugs;
Emancipated minors without a Affidavit of Liability;
Any person who has unpaid fines / outstanding judgements for traffic violations.

Do I need to demonstrate lawful presence in the U.S. in order to apply for a Colorado driver’s license?


Yes. You must submit identification establishing your date of birth, full legal name, identity and lawful permanent / temporary presence in the U.S.

Which examinations are required in order to obtain a Colorado driver’s license?


Physical, vision, written and/or driving test.


COLORADO KNOWLEDGE TEST


How many questions are on the Colorado DMV practice test?


There are 25 questions on the Colorado knowledge test.

What is the score required to pass the test?


You must score at least 20 /25 right answers to pass the test.
How can I prepare for the Colorado knowledge test?
All the questions of the Colorado permit test are based on the Content of the official “Colorado Driver Handbook “.

How do I know when I am ready to take the practice test?


You are ready to take your permit test when you are familiar with all the content of the driver manual and when you can score at least 20 right questions on every practice permit test on this website.

I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?


You can take the test again starting from the following day.


I HAVE A DRIVER’S LICENSE, BUT...


I am a Colorado resident, but I am employed in another state and I have an out-of-state driver license. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?


No, if the state you work in requires licensing to drive in order to engage in a regular trade or profession and if your out-of-state driver’s license is valid.

I am a (foreign) member of the Armed Forces serving on active duty in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?


No. The exemption includes your spouse and your children.

I am a nonresident student in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?


No, if you are temporarily residing in Colorado for the principle purpose of furthering your education and if you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license.

I am a foreign tourist / instructor / business person in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?


No. If you have a valid out-of-state or out-of-country driver’s license you may drive any private (noncommercial) vehicle.

I am a new resident, 16 years of age or older and I have a valid out-of-state driver’s license. Do I have to take the written or driving test in order to get a Colorado driver’s license?


No, normally you will not be required to take this tests.

I am a new resident and I have an out-of-state driver’s license. Do i have to surrender this license in order to obtain a Colorado driver’s license?


Yes.

I have a Colorado driver’s license (issued for 5 years) / a Colorado instruction permit (issued for 3 years) and I want to renew it. What do I have to do?


You must present your old license / permit, pass a vision test, pay the required fee and be fingerprinted and photographed.

My Colorado driver’s license or permit is lost / stolen / mutilated. What do I have to do?


You must appear in person at any driver’s license office, present acceptable identification and pay the standard renewal fee.

I have a valid Colorado driver license but I changed name and/or address. What do I have to do?


You must notify the Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days.


TYPES OF COLORADO DRIVER’S PERMITS AND LICENSES


-Driver Education Permit
Age requirement: 15 years - 15 years and 6 months of age.
Validity: 3 years.
Document requirements: Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship and Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course within 6 months prior to applying for the permit.
Restrictions: You may drive only with your driver education instructor or with the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability. After 15 years and 6 months of age you may drive only with the person who signed the Affidavit. The restriction is automatically lifted when you reach 18 years of age.

-Driver Awareness Permit
Age requirement: 15 years and 6 months - 16 years of age.
Validity: 3 years.
Document requirements: Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship and documentation indicating completion of an approved driver awareness program.
Restrictions: You may drive only with the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability. The restriction is automatically lifted when you reach 18 years of age.

-Minor Instruction Permit
Age requirement: 16 years - 21 years of age.
Validity: 3 years.
Document requirements: Minors under 18 must present an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship.
Restrictions: You may drive only with the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability. The restriction is automatically lifted when you reach 18 years of age.

-Minor Driver’s License
Age requirement: 16 years - 21 years of age.
Validity: expires 20 days after the 21st birthday.
Document requirements: Minors under the age of 18 (and at least 16) must hold an instruction permit for at least 12 months and present a Drive Time Log sheet. Minors 18 and older do not have to hold an instruction permit but do have to first purchase an instruction permit before taking the driving test.

-Adult Instruction Permit
Age requirement: 21 years of age and over.
Validity: 3 years.
Document requirements: adults have to first purchase an instruction permit before taking a driving test.

-Adult License
Age requirement: 21 years of age and over.
Validity: expires on the birthday 5 years from the issue.