CONNECTICUT DMV TEST - FAQ
In order to get your Connecticut driver’s license you need to pass the knowledge test. You must pass this test before you receive your learner’s permit. The test is based on the information contained in the “Connecticut Driver’s Manual”.
What is the age requirement in order to obtain a Connecticut learner’s permit?
You must be at least 16 years of age and you must pass the vision and knowledge tests.
Who can obtain a learner’s permit?
The Connecticut learner’s permit is issued to anyone who:
- meets the health and fitness standards for Connecticut license holders;
- is at least 16 years old;
- passes the knowledge and vision test.
How does the vision test work?
The vision test evaluates your acuity and peripheral vision. Your eyes must be at least 20/40 with or without glasses/contact lenses.
I am a first time driver. Do I need a learner’s permit?
Yes, regardless of your age, you must have a learner’s permit before you begin practicing driving and you have to carry it whenever you are operating a vehicle. You must also take an 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at a Connecticut Commercial Driving School.
I had a Connecticut driver’s license in the past / I currently hold a valid out-of-state license. Do I have to take an 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course?
No, you don’t have to take this course in order to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license.
CONNECTICUT KNOWLEDGE TEST
How many questions are on the Connecticut DMV practice test?
The test consists of 25 questions.
What is the score required to pass the test?
You need 20 correct answers to pass.
How can I prepare for the Connecticut knowledge test?
The best way is to study the Official “Connecticut Driver’s Manual” and take the online DMV practice tests found on this website.
How do I know when I am ready to take the practice test?
You should be ready when you can pass all the practice tests with 20-25 correct answers.
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
You have to wait 14 days before you can take the practice test again. You also have to pay a new testing fee.
I have a learner’s permit. Do I have to complete a driver training program in order to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license?
Yes, all 16- and 17-year-old applicants for a driver’s license must complete a driver training program through a:
licensed Commercial Driving School or
a Secondary School Program (high school) or
a Home Training Program and eight-hour course on safe driving practices (including 2-hour parent training).
All 18 year-old applicants must obtain and hold a learner’s permit for at least 90 days prior to taking a road test and must take an 8-hour course on safe driving practices and present a certificate showing proof of attending this course.
How long is a Connecticut learner’s permit valid for?
It is valid 2 years from the date it is issued or until you obtain a driver’s license.
I have a learner’s permit. Do I have any restrictions?
Yes, you may not have any passengers except for: a licensed driving instructor or a person, of at least 20 years of age, who is providing instruction and who has held a valid driver’s license for at least four consecutive years.
What happens if I do not respect the restrictions?
You may have your permit suspended.
I am the parent of a 16/17-year-old who obtained a learner’s permit. What do I have to do?
You must complete two hours of instruction with your teen concerning the laws governing drivers under age 18 and the dangers of teen driving at a commercial driving or secondary school. The course is part of the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices course.
Can I complete my driver training program at home?
Yes, you must train with an instructor who is at least 20 years of age or older and who has held a license for four or more consecutive years prior to training.
Who can be the instructor for the Home Training Program?
Home training may be done by a parent, guardian or close relative. The home instructor must sign a statement at the time of the road test, which states that the applicant has obtained a learner’s permit and successfully completed at least 30 hours of course study, including an 8-hour Safe Driving Practices class at a Connecticut commercial driving or secondary school.
I PASSED THE ROAD TEST
I am 16-17 years old and I received my Connecticut Driver’s license. Do I have any restrictions?
- During the first six months you may not have any passengers in the vehicle except for a licensed driving instructor, a parent or legal guardian or one person who is at least 20 years old and holds a valid driver’s license.
- During the second six months you may drive alone or only with members of the your immediate family. You are also not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.