DMV PERMIT TEST NEW YORK

View instructions
To apply for a learner permit or driver license in New York State, you must complete an Application for Driver License (MV-44). You must pass a vision and written test and pay the application and license fees. The written test covers the contents of the New York State DMV Driver’s Manual, including road rules, road signs, driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, as well as other driving and safety rules.
The knowledge test consists of 20 multiple choice questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 14 questions, and at least 2 of the 4 questions about road signs.
1. To reduce the chance of a deer hit, it is important to know that daily deer activity is highest:
at dawn and dusk.
when it’s dark.
between 2 PM and 5 AM.
between 1 PM and 3 PM.
2. What should you do in case of a brake failure?
Rub your tires on the curb to slow your car.
Pull off the road into an open space.
Apply the parking brake slowly.
All of the above.
3. Who has a greater risk of being involved in a traffic crash?
Young people.
Drivers who are driving alone.
Shift workers.
All of the above.
4. For a first Zero Tolerance violation, the driver license will be:
revoked until the driver reaches 21.
suspended for 6 months.
suspended for 18 months.
revoked for at least two years
5. At a stop sign there is no stop line. You must stop:
after you enter the crosswalk.
before you enter the crosswalk.
before the traffic light turns red.
before you enter the intersection.
6. Who is most at risk?
Drivers who are driving long distances without rest breaks.
Drivers who have overslept.
Experienced drivers.
Drivers who have traditional work schedules.
7. ___________ normally are white rectangles with black letters or symbols.
Warning signs
Destination signs (guide signs)
Service signs
Regulation signs (regulatory signs)
8. To maintain a good “space cushion” between your vehicle and the one ahead, you should use the:
three-second rule.
two-second rule.
“safe distance” rule.
“space cushion” rule.
9. If you are convicted of Aggravated DWI as a first offense, you face:
up to 1 year in jail.
fine of between $2,500 and $5000.
revocation of your driver’s license for at least 1 year.
a 60-day suspension.
10. When following motorcycles, drivers should:
try to pass them as they have different braking capabilities than other motor vehicles.
keep more space in front of their vehicle.
reduce the minimum following distance.
keep less space in front of their vehicle.
 
Page 1 of 2
Next page  

NY DMV License Test Facts

Number of questions: 20
Signs questions: 4
Correct answers to pass: 14
Passing score: 70%
Number of questions: 20
Signs questions: 4
Correct answers to pass: 14
Passing score: 70%
Share This Online Test
Rate This Free Test
4.5 out of 5
based on 90 votes