What is the age requirement to obtain an Oklahoma Driver License?
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for an Oklahoma Driver License.
If your are at least 15 ½ years old you can apply for a Learner Permit.
Who needs an Oklahoma Driver License?
Every Oklahoma resident who operates a motor vehicle in Oklahoma.
Which documents do I have to provide?
- Proof of identification;
- Proof of authorized presence in the US;
- Proof of auto liability insurance;
- Social Security Number.
Additionally, if you are under 18 years of age:
- Proof of reading proficiency;
- Proof of completion of driver’s education.
Do I have to pass any test to obtain my Oklahoma Driver License or Learner Permit?
Yes. You have to pass the vision, knowledge and driving skills tests.
GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE (GDL)
Who can enter the Oklahoma Graduated Driver License Program?
Every 15 ½ years old Oklahoma resident.
What do I have to do to apply for a Learner Permit?
- Be at least 15 ½ years old;
- Complete driver education (if your are at least 16 of age, no driver education is required);
- Pass the written exam;
- Pass the vision exam.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my Learner Permit?
Yes. You are allowed to drive only between 5 am and 10 pm while accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age.
I have successfully held my Learner Permit for 6 months, can I obtain my Intermediate License?
Yes, after completion of at least 50 hours (including 10 at nights) of behind-the-wheel training from a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age and with at least 2 years of driving experience. You must also pass a driving skills exam and have no traffic convictions.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my Intermediate License?
If you are alone: you are allowed to drive only between 5 am and 10 pm and to carry only 1 passenger (other than people who live in your home).
While accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age: you are allowed to drive anytime and to carry any passenger.
When can I obtain my Unrestricted License?
After having held your Intermediate License for at least 6 months and having no traffic convictions on your driving record.
OKLAHOMA WRITTEN TEST
Where can I take my Oklahoma written exam?
At an Oklahoma Driver Testing Facility operated by the DPS (Department of Public Safety). Find your nearest DPS office
How many questions are on the Oklahoma DPS written exam?
The Oklahoma knowledge test consists of 50 questions.
What is the score required to pass the test?
You must correctly answer at least 40 questions (80%) to pass the exam.
How can I prepare for the Oklahoma written test?
- Study the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual;
- Practice with our Oklahoma DMV written test
What is the knowledge test about?
Oklahoma traffic laws, safe driving practices, drug and alcohol laws, local traffic laws.
How can I prepare for the Oklahoma knowledge test?
The questions on the Oklahoma written test are taken from the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual, read it carefully!
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
You have to wait at least 1 day before you can retake the test.
DRIVING SKILLS EXAM
What is the Oklahoma driving test about?
You will be required to drive safely and legally.
What will I have to do during my driving skills exam?
- Control the car;
- Perform basic maneuvers;
- Use signals;
- Use lanes;
- Obey traffic signs, markings and signals;
- Yield right-of-way.
Can anyone accompany me during the driving test?
No. Only the examiner is allowed to ride in the car with you.
I failed my driving test. When can I repeat it?
If you fail, the driving examiner will tell you when you can repeat the driving skills exam.