OREGON DMV TEST - FAQ

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS


What is the age requirement in Oregon to apply for a license?


You must be at least 15 years of age to apply for an instruction permit.
You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a driver's license.

Which documents do I have to provide to obtain an OR driver's license?


- Proof of identity and date of birth;
- Proof of legal presence;
- Current residence address;
- Social Security Number;
- Certificate of school enrollment or high school diploma or General Education Development (GED) certificate (for applicants under 18).

Which tests are administered in Oregon to obtain a driver's license?


You will have to take vision, driving knowledge and driving tests (and a Safe Driving Practices Test if you are younger than 16).

Can I sign my license or permit application if I am under 18?


No, a parent or legal guardian must sign your application.

I am under 18. How can I upgrade from my instruction permit to a driver license?


- Hold your instruction permit for at least 6 months;
- Complete 100 hours of supervised driving experience.
- Pass a drive test.
Or:
- Hold your instruction permit for at least 6 months;
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving experience;
- Take an ODOT-approved traffic safety education course.

Who must supervise me during my driving practice?


Someone who is at least 21 years of age and has held a valid driver license for at least 3 years. He/she must sit beside you in the passenger seat.


OREGON DMV EXAMINATION


Am I allowed to wear glasses or contact lenses during the vision test?


Yes. If you need corrective lenses to pass the test, your driver's license will indicate that such lenses are required.

How is the knowledge test structured?


The test contains 35 multiple-choice questions about road signs, traffic laws and other information contained in the Oregon Driver Manual.

What is the passing score for the Oregon knowledge test?


You must correctly answer at least 28 questions to pass the test.

How can I prepare for the Oregon written test?


- Study the Oregon Driver’s Manual;
- Practice with our Oregon DMV written test.

What is the Safe Driving Practices Test?


This additional test proves your knowledge of safe driving practices. You must take it only if you are younger than 16 years old.

Do I have to make an appointment for my knowledge test in Oregon?


No appointment is required for the knowledge test but you must arrive at the office at least one hour before the closing time.

I failed my knowledge test. When can I retake it?


You must wait at least the following day. After four failed attempts you must wait at least 28 days.

What is evaluated during the drive test?


- Turning;
- Backing up;
- Parking;
- Lane changes;
- Speed control;
- Signaling;
- Vehicle control;
- General driving ability.

Do I have to take the OR drive test after completion of a Driver Education Course?


No, the test is waived if you have completed an ODOT-approved Driver Ed course within the past 2 years. You must present a plastic course completion card.

Do I have to provide a vehicle for my drive test?


Yes. The vehicle will be inspected by the examiner to determine if the following equipment is in working order:
- turn signals;
- brake lights;
- horn;
- passenger door;
- passenger seat;
- seatbelts;
- tires;
- muffler;
- side view or rear-view mirrors.

Is an appointment required for the drive test?


Yes.

I failed my drive test. What's next?


If you are under 18: wait 28 days before retaking the test.
If you are 18 years of age or older: wait 7 days before retaking the test. After the second attempt, you must wait 14 days. After the third attempt, you must wait 28 days.