Remember: if you are looking to get a Florida driver’s license, you must thoroughly study the Official Florida Driver’s Handbook. This page answers some of the most commonly asked questions about obtaining a Florida license and the Florida road system.
Who Needs a Florida license?
Every resident of Florida needs a valid Florida driver’s license to drive a motor vehicle on public streets and highways.
Who is considered a resident of Florida?
You are considered a resident of Florida if you:
• reside in Florida for more than 6 consecutive months
• register to vote in Florida
• enroll your children in public school
• accept employment in Florida
• file for a homestead exemption.
I just moved to Florida and have a valid license from another state. What do I need to do?
You must get a Florida license within 30 days of becoming a resident.
I am a non-resident and have a valid non-commercial driver license from another state. Do I need a Florida driver license?
No. Non-residents who have a valid license from another state or territory of the United States may drive in Florida without a Florida driver license.
I am a non-resident and have a valid non-commercial driver license from another country. Do I need a Florida license?
No. Any non-resident who has an International Driving Permit from his or her country of residence, accompanied by a valid license from that country, may drive in Florida without a Florida driver license.
I am a non-resident attending college in Florida. Do I need a Florida driver license?
No, if you have a valid license from another state, you may drive in Florida without a Florida driver license.
I live in another state and travel regularly between home and work in Florida. Do I need a Florida driver license?
No, if you have a valid license from your home state.
Do non-resident migrant farm workers need a Florida driver license?
Providing they have a valid license from their home state, non-resident migrant farm workers do not need a Florida license, even if they are employed in Florida or place their children in a Florida state public school.
Do members of the Armed Forces stationed in Florida and their dependents need a Florida driver license?
No, with a few exceptions. Please consult the Official Florida Driver’s Handbook for a complete list of criteria.
I am a U.S. government employee with a valid driver license from another U.S. state. Do I need a Florida license?
United States government employees with a valid driver license from another state or country, driving a United States government motor vehicle on official business do not need a Florida driver’s license.
I’m a non-resident working for a firm on a contract for the United States government. Do I need a Florida license?
No. Please note, however, that this exemption is only for 60 days.
I am applying for a Florida license. What tests do I need to take?
Persons applying for a learner’s driver license or class E license must take a vision, hearing, and Class E knowledge test. A vision and hearing test is required for renewal applicants.
What is required to get a learner’s driver license in Florida?
You become eligible to apply for a learner’s driver license at the age of 15. Requirements include passing vision and Class E Knowledge test and completing a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. Please consult the Official Florida Driver’s Handbook for the full list of requirements.
How many questions are on the Florida DMV test?
The DMV written test consists 50 multiple choice questions: 40 road rules and 10 road signs questions. To pass the test, you must correctly answer at least 40 questions (80%).
Are driver's permit and learner's license the same thing?
Yes. A driver's permit is sometimes also referred to as learner's permit, learner's license, restricted license or provisional license.
I hold a Florida learner’s license. When can I drive?
A person who holds a learner’s license must be accompanied at all times by a licensed driver aged 21 years or older, who occupies the front passenger seat.
You can only drive during daylight hours the first three months from the license issue date.
After the first three months, you may drive from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.
I lost my license / My license was stolen. What do I need to I do?
Apply for a replacement immediately. You can obtain a replacement in a field issuance office or at www.GoRenew.com.
How much does a replacement license cost?
The replacement license fee is $25. If the card was stolen and you provide a copy of the police report, the replacement fee is waived as long as no changes are made to the card. When changes are made to the card, the $25 replacement fee is charged.
I am under 18. How can I get a Motorcycle Only License in Florida?
• You must have had a learner’s license for a minimum of 12 months or until the 18th birthday.
• You also must have no traffic violation convictions 12 months from the issue date of the learner’s permit.
• You must provide proof of completion of an approved motorcycle safety course.
I am over 18. How can I get a Motorcycle Only License in Florida?
• You must pass the vision and Class E Knowledge exams, or hold a valid learner’s permit.
• You must also provide proof of completion of an approved motorcycle safety course, or provide an out-of-state motorcycle only license (except Alabama).
How do I request a motorcycle endorsement in Florida?
To get a Motorcycle Also License you must:
• hold a Class E license or higher or meet the requirements for a Class E license.
• complete an approved motorcycle safety course, Basic Rider Course or provide an out-of-state motorcycle only license (except Alabama).
My address has changed. What do I need to do?
You must obtain a new Florida license within 10 days of the change of address.
What is a Mature Driver Insurance Course?
A driving course specifically designed to update older drivers on Florida traffic laws and suggest ways to adapt driving habits to accommodate aging. Some courses qualify mature drivers for a reduction in auto insurance costs.
How can Florida drivers get traffic information on the go?
The Florida Department of Transportation’s toll-free 511 Traveler Information System provides up-to-date traffic information for all major Florida roadways.