Who needs a driver's license in Louisiana?
Any resident in Louisiana who drives on public streets or highways.
Who is exempt from owning a Louisiana driver's license?
- Every non-resident who holds a valid out-of-state or out-of-country license and drives in the state for no more than 90 days.
- Every student who holds a valid out-of-state driver's license and a current student ID card.
- Everyone who temporarily operates agricultural machinery on the highway.
- Every member of the Armed Forces in possession of a valid out-of-state driver's license.
I recently moved to Louisiana, do I need a Louisiana driver's License?
Yes. You have 30 days to obtain a Louisiana license.
Which documents do I have to provide when applying for a LA driver's license?
- Proof of identity and date of birth;
- Social Security Number;
- Signature of the custodial parent/legal guardian if you are 17 and under.
What is the age requirement to apply for a driver's license in Louisiana?
You must be at least 17 years old to apply for a LA driver's license. If you are at least 15 years of age you can enter the graduated licensing program and apply for a learner's permit.
Which tests are given in Louisiana when you apply for a driver's license?
- Vision exam;
- Traffic signs and signals test;
- Knowledge test;
- Road skills test.
When does a Louisiana driver's license expire?
It will expire 4 years from your nearest birthday. It can be renewed within 180 days before the expiration date.
I changed my address and the old address is written on my license. What do I have to do?
You must notify the local motor vehicle office of the change and have your license corrected within 10 days.
LOUISIANA GRADUATED LICENSING PROGRAM
What are the requirements to obtain a learner's permit in Louisiana?
- Have at least 15 years of age;
- Complete 30 hours classroom instruction;
- Complete 8 hours behind-the-wheel instruction;
- Pass vision screening, written and traffic signs tests.
How can I practice driving with my LA learner's permit?
You are allowed to drive with a licensed adult of at least 21 years of age or with a sibling of at least 18 years of age.
How can I upgrade from my LA learner's permit to an intermediate license?
- You must be at least 16 years of age;
- You must have held you permit for at least 180 days
- Your parent/legal guardian must sign a statement attesting that you completed at least 35 hours of behind-the-wheel experience;
- You must take and pass the road skills driving test.
Any restriction when driving with my LA intermediate license?
Yes. You may drive only between 5 am and 11 pm, unless accompanied by a licensed adult of at least 21 years of age or with a sibling of at least 18 years of age.
How can I obtain my Louisiana full license?
You must hold your intermediate license until you turn 17 to obtain a full license.
What if I am 17 but I did not enter the graduated licensing program?
If you are 17, you can apply for a full license after completion of a full driver's education course or a 6 hours pre-licensing course.
LOUISIANA VISION, KNOWLEDGE AND DRIVING TESTS
What is the vision screening?
The vision test determines if your vision meets the standards for safe driving. A score of 20/40 is required. If you need corrective lenses to pass the vision exam, you must wear them while driving.
What is on the Louisiana knowledge test?
40 multiple-choice questions that test your knowledge of laws and safe driving practices.
What is the minimum score required to pass the LA knowledge test?
You must score at least 32/40.
What is the traffic sign test about?
You must identify and know the meaning of standard road signs and traffic signals.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my road skills test in Louisiana?
Yes, the vehicle you provide must:
- Be in safe driving condition;
- Pass a safety inspection;
- have a valid inspection sticker, current license plate and registration.
You must also provide proof of liability insurance on the vehicle being used for the test.
What driving skills are required to pass the Louisiana road skills test?
- Keeping in lane;
- Following other vehicles;
- Yielding right of way;
- Parking between cars;
- Attention to driving;
- Response to signs and signals;
- Approach to corner;
- Use of signals.
What will make me fail my road test?
- Violating any traffic law;
- Being involved in an accident;
- Lacking cooperation;
- Refusing to perform;
- Making repeatedly minor mistakes.
I failed my road skills test. What's next?
If you don't currently have a permit, you will be issued one to practice. The examiner will advise you of your errors. You can retake the test at later date.