Who is required to obtain a New Hampshire driver license?
Every resident in New Hampshire who wishes to drive a motor vehicle.
I am a new resident and I hold a valid out-of-state driver license. Do I need a NH license?
Yes. You must obtain your New Hampshire driver license within 60 days.
Who is exempt from owning a NH driver license?
- Non-residents with a valid out-of-state driver license;
- Members of the Armed Forces with a valid out-of-state driver license;
- Tourists with a valid out-of-country driver license;
- Students who are enrolled in NH and have a valid out-of-state driver license.
What is the age requirement to obtain a NH driver's license?
You must be at least 16 years old. New drivers between 16 and 17 years of age must complete an approved driver education program.
How long is a New Hampshire driver license valid for?
Your license is valid for 5 birthdays from its issuance.
What is a youth operator license?
This license is issued to any new driver who is between 16 and 21 years of age. This license will expire when the driver turns 21.
Which restrictions apply on my youth operator license if I am under 18 years of age?
- You may not drive between 1 am and 4 am;
- During the first 6 months, you may not carry any passenger less than 25 years of age (except for family members or if accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 25 years of age).
How can I apply for a driver license in New Hampshire?
Fill out and present the application to the DMV offices.
If you are under 18 years of age you must also provide a driver education certificate and a parent or guardian authorization certificate.
How can I practice driving in New Hampshire?
You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old and be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver who is at least 25 years old.
Anyone under 18 years of age must complete 40 hours of supervised driving (including 10 at night). This practice is in addition to the 10 hours required by driver education.
I changed my name or my address. Do I have to notify the DMV?
Yes, you must notify the DMV of the change in writing within 10 days.
NH DRIVER TEST
How can I prepare for the New Hampshire written test?
- Study the New Hampshire Driver’s Manual;
- Practice with our New Hampshire DMV written test
What does the driver test in New Hampshire consist of?
- Vision test;
- Knowledge test;
- Road test.
Am I allowed to wear corrective lenses during my vision test?
Yes, if you need corrective lenses to pass your vision test you must wear them when you drive.
How is the knowledge test structured?
You have 40 minutes to complete a 40 multiple-choice questions test.
How do I pass the written test?
You pass the test if you correctly answer at least 32 questions.
Do I have to take the written test if I hold a valid out-of-state driver license?
Your written test may be waived.
What should I bring to my New Hampshire road test?
- All driver licenses issued to you by any state;
- Two forms of positive identification;
- A legally registered vehicle.
Can I drive alone to the site of my road test?
No, a licensed driver must accompany you to the testing site and must remain at the site until the road test is over.
What is evaluated during the road test?
- How you handle the vehicle in traffic;
- Your driving habits;
- How well you understand traffic signs and rules of the road;
- How well you handle the stress of driving in traffic;
- Your attitude toward driving and safety.
What happens if I fail any part of the driver test?
The DMV will decide when you can retest.