Who is required to have an Alaska driver's license?
Everyone who operates a motor vehicle on Alaska streets and highways.
What is the age requirement to obtain an Alaska driver's license?
You may obtain an Alaska driver's license if you are over the age of 18. You may obtain an instruction permit if you are 14 years of age or older.
Which documents are required to apply for an Alaska driver's license or instruction permit?
- Social Security number;
- Proof of residence;
- Proof of date of birth;
- Proof of US Citizenship or proof of authorized stay in the US;
- One additional form of identification to verify your name.
I am younger than 18 years of age. Can I apply for an instruction permit?
Yes, but the signature of a parent or legal guardian is required.
Which tests do I have to pass to obtain an Alaska driver's license?
A vision, written and driving tests.
ALASKA INSTRUCTION PERMIT AND PROVISIONAL LICENSE
Who is required to have an instruction permit in Alaska?
Everyone who is learning to drive and is at least 14 years of age.
Can I drive alone with my AK instruction permit?
No. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least 1 year of driving experience. He/she must occupy the seat beside you.
How long is an Alaska instruction permit valid for?
It is valid for 2 years and can be renewed one time only.
When do I gain full license privileges in Alaska?
It depends on you driving behaviour. Responsible drivers can gain full privileges before turning 18.
How can I obtain a provisional license in Alaska?
- Hold your valid instruction permit for at least 6 months;
- Have at least 40 hours of driving experience (including 10 hours of nighttime driving or driving in inclement weather);
- Not be convicted of a traffic violation.
How long do I have to hold my AK provisional license?
For at least 6 months before applying for a driver's license. In this period of time, you must not be convicted of violating a traffic law or of illegal use of alcohol or drugs.
Are there any restrictions while driving with an AK provisional license?
Yes. You may NOT:
- carry passengers other than a parent, sibling, legal guardian or person at least 21 years of age;
- drive unaccompanied between 1am and 5am.
ALASKA WRITTEN TEST
How many questions are on the Alaska written test?
There are 20 questions on the AK written test.
How many questions can you miss to pass the AK written test?
You can miss up to 4 questions to pass the test.
How can I prepare for the Alaska written test?
Study the Alaska Driver Manual and practice on dmv-permit-test.com
What is on the Alaska written exam?
The written test covers the following topics: traffic laws, safe driving practices and highway
I failed my written test. What do I have to do?
You can retake the test the following the day. Study the manual and practice before retaking the exam.
My driving privileges have been revoked. Do I have to pass the written test to obtain my AK driver license?
ALASKA DRIVING TEST
Do I have to schedule an appointment to take my AK driving test?
Yes. you can take the driving test at most DMV offices or through a state-approved third party tester.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my AK driving test?
Yes. The vehicle must be currently registered and you must provide a proof of insurance.
What will be evaluated during my driving test?
You will have to perform normal driving tasks, such as:
- Turning left and right;
- Changing lane properly.
Can a parent or a friend ride in the car with me during the driving test?
No. Only you and the examiner are allowed in the car during the test.
Which common mistakes will make me fail the driving test in Alaska?
- Violating a traffic law;
- Performing dangerous driving actions;
- Refusing to perform a task as required by the examiner;
- Contributing to a crash.
I failed the Alaska driving test. What can I do?
You must wait at least 7 days to retake the test. The examiner will tell you when you may return to take another test.