When is an Arizona driver license required?
An operator license is required to drive any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial license. A motorcycle license is required to drive a motorcycle or motor driven cycle.
What is the age requirement to apply for an Arizona driver license?
You must be at least 18 years old.
How long is my Arizona driver license valid for?
Your Arizona driver license does not expire until you are 65 years old, but you need to update your photo and screening every 12 years.
I am a temporary resident in Arizona, may I apply for a regular driver license?
No, you can only apply for a 5-year driver license.
Do military personnel with principal residence in another state or country but based in Arizona need an Arizona driver license?
No, they do not, if they have a valid driver license, operate a vehicle requiring a Class D driver license and are employed by an organization that operates both in Arizona and in another country.
Do I need to submit proof to MVD that my presence in the US is authorized under federal law to get an Arizona driver license?
Yes, MVD must determine that you meet the identification requirements of the law. The complete list of required documents can be found on the “Arizona Driver License Manual and Customer Service Guide”.
I was reported as a “problem driver” and have outstanding actions in another state, can I apply for an Arizona driver license?
I changed my name and/or address. What do I need to do?
You must notify the Motor Vehicle Division of any change to your name or address within 10 days. You can do this by writing or you may go to any MVD office.
I am a new resident in Arizona and I have a valid out-of-state driver license. Do I need an Arizona driver license?
Yes. When you apply for your Arizona driver license you need to show your out-of-state driver license.
You are a new resident if:
- You work in Arizona (other than for seasonal agricultural work).
- You are registered to vote in Arizona.
- You place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a non-resident.
- You have a business with an office in Arizona that bases and operates vehicles in this state.
- You obtain a state license or pay school tuition fees at the same rate as an Arizona resident.
- You have a business that operates vehicles to transport goods or passengers within Arizona.
- You remain in Arizona for a total of seven months or more during any calendar year, regardless of your permanent residence.
INSTRUCTION PERMIT - GRADUATE LICENSE
I am under 16, can I apply for an Arizona driver license?
No, if you're at least 15 years and 6 months old you can apply for an “Instruction Permit”. The application must be signed by a parent or legal guardian who will be responsible for your driving conduct.
I have an Instruction Permit, can I drive alone?
No, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the seat beside you.
I am under 18, can I apply for an Arizona driver license?
No, if you are 16 years old and under 18 you can apply for a Graduated License. You must have held an Arizona Instruction Permit for at least 6 months and it must be valid at the time of application. With a Graduate License you can operate any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial license.
ARIZONA KNOWLEDGE TEST
How many questions are on the Arizona MVD test?
The Arizona MVD written test consists of 30 questions. To pass the test, you must correctly answer at least 24 questions (80%). The questions are about road rules, road signs, traffic laws and safe driving practices.
Where do I find the official “Arizona Driver License Manual and Customer Service Guide”?
The manual can be found on the website of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) at https://azdot.gov/home .