Which documents do I have to provide to apply for a Hawaii driver's license?
- Proof of identity;
- Proof of legal presence in the USA.
The documents must be provided in original or certified copy.
Can undocumented immigrants apply for a Hawaii driver's license?
Yes, law authorizes the issuance of driver’s licenses to residents of Hawaii who cannot provide proof of authorized presence in the United States. Applicants must provide satisfactory proof of identity such as a valid unexpired passport or a consular card, and and evidence of current residency in Hawaii.
Which tests do I have to pass to obtain a HI driver's license?
Vision, knowledge and practical road tests.
I am younger than 18. Do I need parental consent to apply for my HI driver's license?
Yes, a parent or legal guardian must provide written consent.
What is the minimum age to apply for an instruction permit in Hawaii?
You must be at least 15 1/2 years old.
How do I obtain an HI instruction permit?
- Be at least 15 1/2 years of age;
- Provide written parental consent;
- Pass the vision screening and the rules of the road test.
Any restriction with my Hawaiian instruction permit?
Yes. You may drive between 5am and 11pm only if accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age. You are allowed to drive between 11pm and 5pm only if accompanied by your parent or legal guardian.
How many questions are on the HI rules of the road test?
There are 30 questions on the written test.
How many correct answers are required to pass the written test in Hawaii?
You must correctly answer at least 24 questions.
I failed the written test. When can I retake it?
You must wait at least 7 days before retaking it.
How can I obtain my provisional license?
- Hold you instruction permit for at least 180 days;
- Be at least 16 years of age;
- Complete a State certified driver's education course;
- Provide the classroom and behind the wheel certificates;
- Pass the road test.
Any restriction while driving with my HI provisional license?
Yes. You may drive between 11pm and 5am only if accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian. You may transport only one person under 18 unless you are accompanied by your parent or legal guardian.
How can I obtain my driver's license?
You must be at least 17 years of age and hold your provisional license for 6 months before obtaining your Hawaiian license.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my road test in Hawaii?
Yes. The vehicle must be in safe operating condition and have a current safety inspection certificate and no-fault insurance card.
Can a parent or a friend ride in the car with me during the road test?
No, only you and the examiner are allowed in the car.