Who is required to have a driver's license in Kansas?

Anyone who drives on public roadways on Kansas. You are required to have a Kansas driver's license within 90 of moving to the state.

Who can drive on public roadways in Kansas without a KS driver's license?

  • Members of the Armed Forces or foreign military on duty in Kansas;
  • Students who are non-resident for tuition purposes;
  • Employees who are temporarily employed in Kansas to receive or give job instruction;
  • Foreigners with valid immigration documents who stay in Kansas for no longer than 1 year.

What are the requirements to obtain a driver's license in Kansas?

  • Be at least 16 years of age;
  • Submit proof of name, age and address;
  • Submit proof of legal presence in the US;
  • Pass the vision screening, written and road skills tests.
If you are under age 18, you must also:
  • Complete an approved driver education course;
  • Have parental/guardian consent.

When can I apply for an instructional permit in Kansas?

When you are at least 14 years old. If you are under 16 years of age you must provide an affidavit signed by a parent/legal guardian.

How can I lose my driving privilege in Kansas?

  • Conviction of 3 moving violations within a 1 year period;
  • Refusing to submit a drug/alcohol test;
  • Failing to appear for a court date or to respond to a traffic citation;
  • Failing to maintain continuous liability insurance on your vehicle;
  • Driving while under the influence of drugs/alcohol;
  • Transporting an open container of liquor or cereal malt beverage;
  • Failing to report a traffic accident.


What do I need to apply for a KS instructional permit?

Pass vision and written examination. Otherwise, you must provide the DE99 form that authorizes your instruction permit from the approved driver's education course you are attending.

Which restrictions apply when driving with an instructional permit in KS?

You can drive only if accompanied by a licensed driver sitting in the front seat, who is at least 21 years of age and has 1 year driving experience.

How long is my Kansas instructional permit valid?

One year. It can be renewed by passing the written examination again.


How can I apply for a KS restricted license?

  • Hold your instructional permit for 1 year.
  • If you are 15 years old: complete 25 hours of supervised driving and an approved driver's education course;
  • If you are 16 years old: complete 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours at night, and pass the driving examinations or bring the DE99 form.
  • Have an affidavit signed by a parent/legal guardian attesting the supervised driving.

Which restrictions apply when driving with a KS restricted license?

15-16 year olds may drive:
  • To/from any job or employment;
  • To/from home and school;
  • Accompanied by a licensed driver in the front seat;
  • Only with adult and sibling passengers.
16-17 year olds may drive:
  • From 5 am and 9 pm;
  • To/from home and school;
  • To/from religious worship service;
  • To/from any job or employment;
  • Accompanied by a licensed driver in the front seat;
  • With one minor passenger who is not immediate family.

When can I receive my non-restricted KS driver's license?

When you are at least 16 years of age and you have held your restricted license for 6 months.


What is on the Kansas knowledge test?

The test consists of multiple choice questions on Kansas traffic laws and road signs.

How many questions are there on the Kansas written exam?

The are 25 multiple choice questions.

What score is required to pass the KS knowledge exam?

You must correctly answer at least 20 questions (80%).

What do I have to do to pass my driving test in Kansas?

You must show basic skills in operating a motor vehicle in traffic.

I failed my Kansas written/driving test. When can I retry it?

You can retake the test the next working day. Study the manual and practice before retaking the test. If you failed the written test, you can practice on DMV Permit Test !