Who is required to have a Maine driver's license?
Any resident who operates a motor vehicle in the state.
I recently moved to Maine. Do I need a Maine driver's license?
Yes. You have up to 30 days to surrender your out-of-state driver's license and apply for a ME license.
Who is not required to hold a Maine driver's license?
- Any resident who has a valid learner's permit;
- Any non-resident of at least 16 years of age who holds a valid out-of-state learner's permit or driver's license;
- Any military personnel on duty in Maine.
What is the age requirement for a Maine driver's license?
16 years of age if you have completed a driver education course. Otherwise, 18 years of age.
How do I obtain a learner's permit in Maine?
You are required to:
- Be at least 15 years of age;
- Provide two forms of identification, Social Security Number and Birth Certificate or Passport;
- Complete an approved driver education course (if under 18 years of age);
- Pass the vision screening;
- Pass the driver knowledge examination.
How long is my ME learner's permit valid for?
Am I allowed to drive alone with my learner's permit in Maine?
No, you must practice driving for at least 70 hours only while accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 20 years of age and who has held a valid license for 2 years. Your parent or legal guardian must certify your driving time.
How do I obtain a driver's license in Maine?
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months;
- Complete at least 70 hours of driving (including 10 hours at night);
- Pass a road a test.
Do I have any restriction when driving with my ME driver's license if I am younger than 18 years old?
Yes, for the first 270 days from passing your road test you may not:
- Use any handheld electronic device while driving;
- Drive between 12 am and 5 am;
- Carry passengers other than immediate family members (unless accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 20 years of age, who has held a valid license for 2 years and is sitting beside you in the car).
What is a Maine provisional license?
A provisional license is issued to any new applicant and is valid for 2 years for drivers under age 21 and for 1 years for drivers at least 21 years old.
What topics does the Maine written test cover?
- Maine drinking and driving laws;
- Maine traffic laws;
- Traffic regulations;
- Driving skills;
- Vehicle handling;
- Highway signs.
Do I have to take a vision screening?
Yes. It will measure your visual acuity and your peripheral vision.
What do I have to do during my road test in Maine?
- Maintain control of your vehicle;
- Drive forward and backward;
- Maintain proper lane position;
- Turn left and right;
- Drive straight ahead;
- React to other road users and pedestrians;
- Obey traffic signs, signals and conditions.
I am moving to Maine and I hold a valid out-of-state driver's license. Do I have to retake all the tests?
No, the written and the road tests may be waived.
I lost my license, what can I do?
You must notify the Maine BMV to apply for a duplicate copy.
The name or address changed from that given on my Maine license, what should I do?
You must notify the BMV within 30 days.