Who is required to have a Missouri driver license?
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle on public roadways in the state.
Who is exempt from holding a Missouri driver license?
- Any member of the armed forces who holds a valid out-of-state driver license;
- Any full-time student who holds a valid out-of-state driver license;
- Anyone who operates any farm tractor on a highway for agricultural purposes.
Where can I apply for a Missouri driver license?
At any license office in Missouri.
How can I obtain a driver license in Missouri?
- Provide verification of name, date of birth, place of birth;
- Provide Social Security Number;
- Provide your Missouri residential address;
- Pass the four-part driver examination.
When can I apply for a MO driver license?
At 18 years of age. Between 15 and 21 years of age, you are subject to the Missouri Graduated Driver License program.
MISSOURI GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE PROGRAM
How is the GLD program in Missouri structured?
If you are a first-time driver you must complete three steps to gain full driving privileges:
- instruction permit;
- intermediate license;
- full (under 21) driver license.
When can I apply for a Missouri instruction permit?
You must be at least 15 years old.
How can I obtain an instruction permit?
- Pass the vision, road signs and written tests;
- Sign a permission statement at the license office with a parent, legal guardian or certified trainer.
How can I practice driving with my instruction permit?
Under age 16, you may drive only if accompanied by one of the following:
- parent / stepparent / legal guardian;
- qualified driving instructor:
- licensed person of at least 25 years of age who has successfully held a license for a minimum of 3 years and has received written permission from a parent/legal guardian.
At age 16 you may drive only if accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age occupying the passenger seat.
Can I renew my instruction permit?
Yes, as many times as needed without taking additional written tests.
At 16 years of age.
- Hold your instruction permit for at least 6 months;
- Complete 40 hours of driving instruction (including 10 hours at nighttime) with a parent or certified trainer;
- Pass the vision, road signs and written tests if previous results are more than 1 year old;
- Pass the driving test.
You must not have any alcohol-related convictions in the last 12 months and any traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
You may not drive alone between 1 am and 5 am, unless accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age, and:
- during the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than 1 passenger under age 19 (except for members of your immediate family).
- after the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than 3 passengers under 19 (except for members of your immediate family).
Parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters and adopted or foster children residing in your household.
To obtain the under-21 full driver license you must:
- not have any alcohol-related convictions or traffic convictions in the last 12 months;
- have a valid intermediate license;
- pass the vision and road sign recognition tests.
How long is my full under-21 driver license valid for?
It is valid up to 3 years, based on the document verification status.
MISSOURI 4-PART DRIVER EXAMINATION
What does the driver examination in Missouri consist of?
- A written test on traffic laws and rules for safe driving;
- A vision test;
- A road sign test;
- A driving skills test.
How is the Missouri knowledge test structured?
The knowledge test contains 25 multiple-choice questions.
What is the passing score?
You must correctly answer at least 20 questions to pass the test.
What is the MO knowledge test about?
Missouri traffic laws and methods of driving.
How can I prepare for the Missouri written test?
Where can I find the Missouri Driver Guide?
At a state contract office or online at https://dor.mo.gov/
What is the road sign test?
The Missouri road sign exam tests your ability to recognize and understand traffic signs.
What is the driving skills test about?
The driving examination tests your ability to drive a vehicle.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my driving test?
Yes. The vehicle must be properly equipped and must have:
- Current license plate;
- Valid inspection sticker;
- Working seat belts;
- Working doors;
- Two sets of working brakes;
- A working horn.
What will I have to do during my road test?
- Start and stop your vehicle;
- Release the parking brake;
- Look to see if the way is clear;
- Give the proper signal;
- Drive smoothly and at the correct speed;
- Parallel park;
- Make at least 2 right and 2 left turns;
- Park on a hill;
- Enter and leave intersections;
- Understand and obey traffic signs and signals.
I moved to Missouri and I hold an out-of-state driver license. Do I have to retake the four-part driver examination to obtain a MO driver license?
Only if your license has expired for more than 184 days.