If you are looking to get a NYS driver’s license, you must thoroughly study the New York DMV Driver’s Manual. Then, you can practice with our New York DMV written tests
This page contains some frequently asked questions about the New York State road system and traffic laws, and how to get driver’s license.
Who needs a driver’s license to drive in New York State?
All drivers must have a valid driver license to drive legally in New York State.
I am a non-resident and have a valid driver license from another state or nation. Do I need a New York license?
If you reside in and hold a valid license from another state or nation, you can drive legally
in New York State. People under age 16 can not drive in New York State even if they are licensed somewhere else.
I’ve moved to New York State and have a valid license from another state. What do I need to do?
Drivers who have moved to New York State must turn in their out-of-state driver license and
get a New York State license within 30 days of becoming residents.
My address has changed. What do I need to do?
New York State law requires that you report a change of residence address to the DMV within 10 days of the change of address.
How old do I need to be to get a learner permit in New York State?
To get a New York State learner permit you must be 16 or older and apply at a DMV office.
How old do I need to be to get a driver license in New York State?
You must be 16 or over to apply for a NYS driver license. The first step is to apply for a learner permit. Once you have a learner permit, you must have supervised driving practice and take a pre-licensing course or a driver education course before you take your road test.
I am less than 16 and have a license from another state. Can I drive in New York State?
No. If you are less than 16, you can not drive in New York State even if you have an
What do I need to do to apply for a New York State learner permit or driver license?
To apply for a learner permit or driver license you must:
- complete an Application for Permit, Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (MV-44).
- provide your Social Security card and present documents that prove your identity and date of birth.
- pay the application and license fees.
- pass the vision and written tests.
Can undocumented immigrants apply for a New York State driver's license?
Yes. When applying for a New York State driver's license, individuals without a Social Security Number can provide an oath or affirmation that they do not have one. All applicants need to prove their identity through other documents, such as a consular identification document, valid unexpired foreign passport, or recent foreign driver's license with a photo. The law also provides the DMV with discretion to approve additional proofs of identity and age.
How many questions are on the New York DMV written test?
The NYS DMV written test consists 20 multiple choice questions. To pass the test, you must correctly answer at least 14 questions (70%), including at least 2 of the 4 questions about road signs.
When can I start to learn to drive?
When you pass the vision and written tests and pay your fees, your learner permit will be issued and you can start to practice driving.
I have a learner permit. Can I drive alone?
No. When you practice, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least age 21 who has a license to operate the vehicle you are driving. In Long Island and New York City, this person must be a parent, guardian or instructor.
How many hours do I need to practice driving before taking the NYS road test?
Before you take the road test, you are encouraged to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 15 hours after sunset. It is recommended that at least 10 hours be in moderate to heavy traffic.
How do I prepare for the road test?
You should complete at least 50 hours of driving practice (including 15 hours of night driving). Road tests are given on city streets, but you should practice on expressways and other types of highways as well. It is also recommended that you take a high school or college driver education course from a DMV-licensed driving school.
Safe Driving Course Requirement. What is it?
Before you can make a road test appointment, you must first complete an approved safe driving course. This requirement is automatically fulfilled as part of every high school or college driver education course. All other drivers can complete this requirement by taking a 5-hour course available at most DMV-licensed driving schools.
How long is my learner permit valid?
The learner permit is valid for approximately 5 years. The exact expiration date depends on your date of birth and the date that you applied for the learner permit.
How long is my first driver license valid?
When you pass the road test, the expiration date of your learner permit becomes the expiration date of your driver license. Together the learner permit and the driver license are valid for a maximum of 5 years.
I have a junior learner permit. When can I take the road test?
Your permit must be held in valid status for a minimum of 6 months in order to take the road test, unless you are 17 and hold a valid Student Certificate of Completion (MV-285).
I am under 18 and hold a learner permit, junior permit or junior driver license from another state. Can I drive in New York State?
Yes, but you must obey all the applicable restrictions from New York State as well as the restrictions from your home state.
I have a have a junior driver license. When do I become eligible for a senior license?
If you are 17 and you have completed a state-approved high school or college driver education course, you are eligible for a senior driver license. To change your junior license to a senior license, you must bring your junior license and the Student Certificate of Completion (MV-285) that you received from your instructor to any DMV office.
Vehicle registration and title. What are they for?
The vehicle registration allows a vehicle to be driven on public roads and highways, while the title certificate proves who owns the vehicle.
What documents do I need to bring to the DMV to register a vehicle?
To register a vehicle, you must provide proof of ownership, proof of sales tax payment, current NYS Insurance ID card, proof of identity and Vehicle Registration Application (MV-82). You must also provide any required damage disclosure statement and/or odometer reading.
How old do I need to be to register a vehicle?
You must be at least 16 years old, and you must provide proof of identity and date of birth. New York State driver license, learner permit, or ID card are accepted.
What are the main reasons for driver license suspension/revocation?
Your driver license can be suspended or revoked for many reasons, including alcohol and drug violations, chemical test refusals, speeding, operating an uninsured vehicle, not answering a ticket in the time allowed, failing to file an accident report, and more. Please consult the New York State Driver’s Manual for more information.
Can I drive while suspended or revoked?
No. Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is a criminal violation.