Who is required to hold a Rhode Island driver's license?
Anyone residing in Rhode Island who wants to drive on public streets and roadways.
What is the age requirement to apply for a Rhode Island driver's license?
You must be at least 18 years old.
Can I drive a motor vehicle in Rhode Island if I am younger than 18?
Yes, the graduated licensing system allows applicants under age 18 to gain driving privileges in 3 steps:
- Limited instructional permit;
- Limited provisional license;
- Full operator's license.
How can I obtain my Rhode Island limited instructional permit?
If you are between 16 and 18 years of age:
- Pass an accredited 33-hour classroom driver education class;
- Pass a computerized permit test administered by the DMV.
If you are over age 18 you don't have to attend the classroom course, but you must take the computerized test.
How do I enroll in a Rhode Island driver education class?
Contact the CCRI (Community College of Rhode Island).
When can I apply for a RI driver education class?
When you are between 15 and 18 years of age. You must be at least 15 years and 10 months old when the class begins.
What is the computerized permit test in Rhode Island about?
Motor vehicle laws and rules of the road.
How many questions are there on the RI permit test?
How can I pass the Rhode Island computerized permit test?
To pass the test, correctly answer at least 40 questions. The test is computerized and you will know immediately if you have passed or not.
How can I prepare for the Rhode Island written test?
- Study the Rhode Island Driver’s Manual;
- Practice with our Rhode Island DMV written test
Which documents are required to apply for a limited instructional permit?
- Birth certificate or passport or RI identification card or Certified baptismal certificate or Resident alien card;
- Driver education certificate of completion of 33 hours;
- Social security card;
- Proof of Rhode Island residency;
- Application form;
- Signature of a parent, legal guardian, licensed foster parent or adult spouse.
Who can be my supervising driver?
A driver who has been licensed to drive for at least 5 years and is at least 21 years of age.
Which restrictions apply when I practice driving with my limited instructional permit?
You can practice driving only under the supervision of your supervising driver who must sit beside you in the car.
How long do I have to hold my limited instruction permit?
For at least 6 months.
How long is my limited instruction permit valid for?
If your permit expires before you have passed the driving test, you must retake the computerized test or be re-certified by CCRI.
If you turn 18 before having your permit for one 1 year, you may apply for a full operator's license.
How can I upgrade to a limited provisional license?
- Hold your limited instruction permit for at least 6 months;
- You must not have been convicted of a motor vehicle moving violation or a safety belt infraction in the last 6 months;
- Pass the driving test;
- Complete at least 50 hours of driving experience with a supervising driver (including 10 at night).
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my driving test in Rhode Island?
Yes. The vehicle must be insured and registered in the state and the owner must be present in the vehicle. It will be inspected by the examiner.
Do I have to make an appointment for my driving test?
Yes. Be sure to schedule the test before your limited instructional permit expires.
What is evaluated in the RI driving test?
- Pre-driving procedures;
- Driving in traffic;
- Making proper turns.
Which actions will make me automatically fail my driving exam?
- Driving on the sidewalk;
- Leaving the laned roadway;
- Leaving the lane of travel;
- Driving in safety zone;
- Any moving violation;
- Lack of cooperation with the examiner;
I passed my driving test. What's next?
Go to the DMV and get your limited provisional license.
I failed my driving test. When can I retake it?
You must wait 30 days before taking a new test.
What if my limited instructional permit expires before an appointment is available for my driving test?
If your permit expires, you may need to take the written test again and obtain a new permit.
Which restrictions apply to a RI limited provisional license?
- You can drive anytime if a supervising driver is sitting beside you in the car;
- You can drive without supervision only between 5 am and 1 am;
- You can drive without supervision when driving to or from work or fire department/rescue squad/emergency medical volunteering activities;
- For the first 12 months, only 1 passenger younger than 21 years of age is allowed in the vehicle (except immediate family members and household members).
How long is my limited provisional license valid for?
Until you turn 18.
How can I obtain my full operator's license?
- Be at least 17 years old;
- Hold your limited provisional license for at least 12 months;
- You must not have been convicted of any moving violations during the previous 6 months.