Who is required to hold a Utah driver's license?
Every resident who drives a motor vehicle on any public roadway in the state.
Who is considered a resident in Utah?
You are considered a UT resident if you
- move to Utah;
- remain in the state for more than 6 months;
- obtain a driver license or register a motor vehicle in Utah;
- obtain privileges not extended to non-residents, such as school tuition;
- are gainfully employed in Utah.
Who is allowed to drive without a Utah driver's license?
- Non-residents licensed by another state or country;
- Visitors with a valid out-of-state or out-of-country license;
- Non-resident military personnel on duty in UT.
Who is not eligible for a Utah driver's license?
You are not allowed to obtain a UT driver's license if you:
- are under the required age of 16;
- have your driving privilege denied, suspended, revoked, or disqualified;
- are unable to understand highway signs in the English language;
- are physically or mentally unable to drive safely;
- have not passed the required examination;
- have a traffic citation or other warrant which has not been settled;
- are not a resident of the state;
- are under 18 years of age, and have not held a learner permit for six months.
Can undocumented immigrants apply for a Utah driver's license?
Yes, unauthorized immigrants can apply for a Utah driver's license, if the required documentation is provided. The law establishes a one-year driving privilege card for unauthorized immigrants. Applicants must provide proof of Utah residency for at least six months and provide a tax identification number. The card is expressly prohibited from being used for identification purposes by a governmental entity.
What is the age requirement to obtain a driver's license in Utah?
18 years of age.
Do I have to complete a driver education course to obtain a UT driver's license?
Yes, if you are under 19 years of age. You must also complete 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent or legal guardian (including 10 during night hours).
If you are 19 years of age or older, you don't have to complete a driver education course if you hold a Utah learner permit for 3 months and complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving (including 10 during nighttime hours.)
How can I obtain my Utah learner permit?
- Pass the knowledge test;
- Pass the eye examination;
- Complete a safety assessment.
Who can obtain a Utah One Year Learner Permit?
Any Utah resident who has reached a minimum age of 15 years old.
How can I practice driving with my Utah One Year Learner Permit?
You are allowed to drive only if an approved driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian who is a licensed driver, is occupying the seat beside you.
How long is the One Year Learner Permit valid for?
The permit is valid for 1 year from date of issue.
Who can obtain a Six Month Learner Permits?
You must have reached a minimum age of 16.
How can I practice driving with my Six Month Learner Permits?
You are allowed to drive only if accompanied by:
- an approved driving instructor; or
- a parent or legal guardian; or
- a person 21 years of age or older.
How can I obtain my Utah regular driver license?
If you are 17 years of age or younger when you apply for their learner permit: you must
hold a learner permit for 6 months before being able to apply for a Utah driver license.
If you turn 18 during the holding period: you may apply for your driver license upon turning 18.
UTAH DMV EXAMINATION
What is the Utah knowledge test about?
The knowledge test will include one part about road signs and a second part with multiple-choice written questions.
How many questions are there on the Utah permit test?
There are 50 multiple-choice questions on the UT written permit test.
Which score is required to pass the Utah permit test?
You must correctly answer at least 40 questions.
How can I pass the Utah knowledge test?
- Study the Utah Driver License Manual. The manual contains information on safe driving rules and practices to help you become a safe driver.
- Practice with our Utah DMV written test.
I failed my knowledge test. When can I repeat it?
You may take two tests in the same day.
What is the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam?
This exam must be taken by all first time license applicants in Utah. You must score 100% to receive your first time Class D license.
Is an appointment necessary for the road test?
Yes, without an appointment you may not take the test.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my road test in Utah?
Yes. It must be properly registered and comply with vehicle safety laws, including functioning
What will be evaluated during my Utah road test?
- Use of proper driving techniques;
- General behavior and attitude;
- Driving posture and proper use of lanes;
- Left and right turns;
- Starting and stopping;
- Parking on hills and between cars;
- Observance of traffic signs and signals, backing, U-turns and steering coordination;
- Attention at intersections;
- Overall ability to operate the vehicle safely and appropriately.