View instructions
Any Nebraska resident who operates a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of Nebraska must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. To obtain a driver's license in Nebraska, you’ll be required to complete a data form, a vision test and, in some cases, a driving skills test. The Nebraska DMV written test is designed to check your knowledge of road signs, road rules, traffic laws and safe driving practices. Everything you need to know is covered in the NE DMV Driver’s Manual. The written knowledge test consists of 25 questions, and you need at least 20 correct answers to pass (80%). Practice with this sample test and study the manual to get ready for the official Nebraska DMV driver's license test.
1. This road sign means:
no right turn sign
No right turn
No U-turns
All traffic turn right
None of the above.
2. This road sign means:
cross road sign
Lane change
3. Should your wheels drop off the roadway or pavement edge, you should:
turn back onto the roadway immediately.
wait until it is safe to do so, then turn gradually back onto the roadway.
4. At intersections with four-way stops, the driver on the right should insist on the right-of-way.
5. A broken yellow center line indicates:
passing is permitted on the left when the way ahead is clear.
passing is not permitted.
passing is permitted on the right when the way ahead is clear.
6. When they see a yellow X signal, drivers should:
lane yellow x
come to a complete stop at the marked stop line.
turn off the ignition.
stay in their lane.
prepare to leave the lane safely.
7. This road sign means:
hill sign
No trucks allowed
Truck stop ahead
Hill ahead
Trucks under 18,000 lbs. allowed
8. A four-way stop sign means:
4 way stop sign
if two vehicles reach the intersection at the same time, the driver on the left yields to the driver on the right.
traffic from all four directions must stop.
there are four stop signs at this intersection.
All of the above.
9. It is against the law to:
pass within 300 feet of a railroad crossing.
pass within 400 feet of any intersection.
pass in any marked no-passing zone.
All of the above.
10. An octagonal sign means that drivers must:
respect the posted speed limit.
slow down.
come to a complete stop at the marked stop line.
be aware possible hazards ahead.
Page 1 of 3
Next page  
Rate This Free Test
4.4 out of 5
based on 227 votes

NE DMV Permit Test

Number of questions: 25
Correct answers to pass:20
Passing score:80%
Number of questions: 25
Correct answers to pass:20
Passing score:80%
Share This Online Test